Riding the Bus to Work


I have started a new experiment this past Monday.   The experiment is riding the JTA, or the Jacksonville Transportation Authority, buses.

I have not ridden a public bus since Jacksonville had the USFL team, the Jacksonville Bulls.  The only other time was when I went to Boston for business and used Boston’s train system to go to Fenway Park.

I have to admit that I lost sleep for a few nights leading up to the day of my first ride.  I am happy to say that it all went off without a hitch, well the hitch(es) were acceptable.  The bus seems to be late each time (4 times so far) anywhere from 4 minutes to over 30.  It appears that the buses have brake problems in the afternoon and have to be switched out at the hub for two afternoons in a row.

The cost is by far and away acceptable.  You see the cost per ride is$1 and for me is $2 per day or $10 per week or $40 per month.  Good stuff when you consider that I was just last week spending $50 a week just to go to work and soccer practices (I coach) twice a week.  I need to drive during the week, but the cost is reduced by up to $30 a week!

The monthly cost of a book of tickets is $36 plus $1 shipping.  Even more savings!

Now if I could just get rid of the $560.91 monthly car payment for the Magnum, I would be set.

About this entry