If money were no object…..


At my husband’s insistence, I am going to spend a little bit of time recording my thoughts.  The topic of choice is, “If money were no object, what would/could you do?”

After the initial “Hmmmmm…..” has subsided, I realize that the question is not as easy to answer as I imagined.  It’s not until I let go of the idea of limitations and  truly grasp the concept of NO OBJECT that I begin to imagine the possibilities.

If money were no object, I would not spend time fretting over whether or not my children will be able to attend college.  I know that they are blessed with intelligence and ambition to succeed, but being able to avoid student loans and delays in education while working to pay tuition will help secure their futures.

If money were no object, I would buy vacation property in a beautiful part of the country that would serve several purposes.  First, it could be a retreat for writing.  I would also hold an annual family reunion with an open invitation to anyone that would like to visit during the summer holiday.  (Time and money seem to be the two things that keep me from visiting my extended family as often as I would like, maybe this would lessen both of these obstacles.)  Finally, it could be used as a free retreat for families in full time ministry.  (A place for rest and reconnecting with each other….)

If money were no object, I would hire a maid service.

If money were no object, I wouldn’t be afraid to go shopping for clothes.

If money were no object, I would start an academic scholarship program for deserving students to attend the private school where I work.

If money were no object, I would travel with my husband (as much as he could stand) and children to interesting and beautiful places that I’ve always wanted to see.

If money were no object, I would be able to spend more time and effort imagining things to do with it!

This has been a fun activity and I’m sure that it is healthy to dream big now and again, but  for today, I must focus on careful planning, budgeting, and sticking to it, so that someday money may perhaps be less of an object if not no object.

-Ashley

About this entry