No Absolutes? A Look into a Monk Selling his Ferrari


I am reading “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable about Fulfilling your Dreams and Reaching Your Destiny.” While I am still early in the book I found an interesting viewpoint conflicting with my own. That viewpoint, I paraphrase, there are no absolutes in the way an emotion or event should be seen or treated, it just is.

My first reaction to this was that an attitude or life principle such as that would lead to apathy more often than it would lead to learning to let go and move on. Yes, it would free you emotionally if you didn’t hang on to the bad times. It would also free you from using those bad times to define your life. The author, Robin S. Sharma, through his character Julian, states that one person’s tragedy could very well be someone else’s gain. Unless you are the family of a brutal dictator mourning that loss while the people rejoiced, is it just being too simplistic to think that way?

My second area of concern with “no absolutes” would be not being able to adequately enjoy the good times. I know I am using the extremes of this idea, but don’t you need to enjoy yourself, too? If you just nodded your head as the only acknowledgement that something good happened, you would just be another Data or Mr. Spock from “Star Trek.”

Where do you stop living on this Earth and just ascend above it all? Is that the detachment the author is advocating? I would enjoy very much not to be concerned about my finances and how to pay them off as quickly as possible. Should I only stop using credit cards and just pay minimums on my current debt load and live status quo?

About this entry