Nothing to Say


Erin on a swing

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.”
Buddha quotes (Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism, 563-483 B.C.)

Living for now
I’d love to say that this idea is an easy one for me, but I can’t say that. Living in and for the moment sounds like a fantasy to me. It isn’t that I haven’t tried it, but invariably my patience doesn’t last long enough. I try to work and focus on one item at a time, but… I try to coach one game at a time. I try to – ____________, but…

So in regards to writing a guide on focusing, well, I have nothing to say. What I can write is what I will purpose to do to make living for “now” my first new habit.

There are any number of excuses for living without focus. The amount of debt we are trying pay off is distracting, simple house maintenance is annoying, and even the nickel and dime-ing of what the kids need at school can keep me up at night. The one thing I’ve read over and over is to focus on one thing at a time and don’t try to multi-task. I’m apparently a failure at multi-tasking so I’m going to try harder and for longer the idea of “uni-tasking”.

They (better bloggers than me) say, “Do what needs to be done and everything else will fall into place.” Wish me luck because that is my Commandment #1 for my Happiness Project.

  1. When paying bills – only pay bills.
  2. When talking to someone – focus on them and their words.
  3. When coaching – only coach the game and the practice for today and not the next game or practice.
  4. When working – work like I’m self-employed. I heard this one on Dave Ramsey today. It is so simple yet so profound that I must attempt how I see myself at work. Ultimately, my performance is a service to those around me and to my manager.
  5. When doing chores – do what I can, but only do one thing at a time.
  6. When out to eat with my wife – sit so that I can only see her and not the TV.
  7. When exercising or just out for a walk – enjoy the scenery.
  8. When living – live my life and not the one I see on TV or read about in a magazine or book.
  9. Concentrate – on being here, on being alive, on doing the right things, on doing the needful things, and on helping those I come in contact with to be better people.

You are what you think
The Bible says, “As a man thinketh in is heart, so is he.” Even practitioners of Zen have a quote: “All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

If I want to live, I must believe that I’m alive. If I want to be happy, I must act happy. If I want satisfaction, I must not seek reward.

About this entry